Skip to main content

Research Repository

Advanced Search

Pathways in the music of Sir Peter Maxwell Davies: from precursor works to the first two symphonies

Phillips, J. P. N.


J. P. N. Phillips


Alastair, 1964 Borthwick

Catherine Dale


This thesis presents analyses of the first and second symphonies of Sir Peter Maxwell Davies. It starts with an introductory part consisting of two chapters outlining the overall structure of what follows and describing four features and a number of devices found repeatedly in Davies’s music. This part is followed by three parts each consisting of an introductory chapter describing and explaining one of the three serial structures used by Davies, transposition squares, transformation processes and magic squares: in each part, the introductory chapter is followed by one or more chapters giving analyses of the orchestral works by Davies using the device. The third of these three parts deals with magic squares, and the orchestral work analysed is the Symphony No. 1: the following part also deals with magic squares, and presents an analysis of the Symphony No. 2. The thesis concludes with a fifth part consisting of a single chapter giving a retrospect, and prospects for future work.


Phillips, J. P. N. (2011). Pathways in the music of Sir Peter Maxwell Davies: from precursor works to the first two symphonies. (Thesis). University of Hull. Retrieved from

Thesis Type Thesis
Deposit Date Sep 4, 2012
Publicly Available Date Feb 22, 2023
Keywords Music
Public URL
Additional Information Department of Music, The University of Hull
Award Date Nov 1, 2011


Thesis (11.3 Mb)

Copyright Statement
© 2011 Phillips, J. P. N. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced without the written permission of the copyright holder.

You might also like

Downloadable Citations